

### Armory Park Historic Zone Advisory Board LEGAL ACTION REPORT/Meeting Minutes Tuesday, November 22, 2022 Virtual Meeting

### 1. Call to Order/Roll Call

Meeting was called to order at 6:51 pm when a quorum was established with five members present: Ms. Sara Bachmann-Williams, Mr. John Burr, Ms. Martha McClements, Mr. Maurice Roberts and Mr. Robijn van Giesen.

Members absent: Mr. Tom Beal, Ms. Helen Erickson, Mr. Glenn Furnier, Mr. Pat O'Brien. COT staff: Ms. Jodie Brown, HPO.

Guests: APNA Board and Residents (meeting took place separately, within APNA Annual Meeting).

# 2. Appointment/Re-appointment of Current and New Members to the Armory Park Historic Zone Advisory Board

Ms. McClements, Chair, announced that Mr. Maurice Roberts has offered to serve a second four-year term on the board. Mr. Glenn Furnier is not seeking a second term. Ms. McClements has termed out after 8 years.

Ms. McClements has received interest from three prospective candidates for the board (who also participated in the November 15 APHZAB meeting): Ms. Kai Shane, Ms. Lyn Southerland and Mr. Stan Schuman. A couple of others had expressed interest in the past year, but not recently.

Ms. McClements noted that there are three categories for candidates: residents, owners, and "special qualifications", briefly outlining each. Nominations from the floor were taken three times. No other nominations were made.

Action Taken: Mr. Burr made a motion to recommend reappointment of Mr. Roberts to another term on APHZAB and to nominate Ms. Kai Shane, Ms. Lyn Southerland and Mr. Stan Schuman for appointment to the board for 2023, directing the Chair to send those recommendations to the City for Mayor and Council approval/appointment. Ms. Bachman-Williams seconded. Five votes in favor: Ms. Bachman-Williams, Mr. Burr, Ms. McClements, Mr. Roberts and Mr. van Giesen. 0 votes opposed.

Ms. Brown noted that the candidates will have to fill out an application form on the City Clerk's site.

#### 3. Call to the Audience

None.

## 4. Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 6:57 pm. The next regularly scheduled meetings will be December 20, 2022.