

Community Police Advisory Review Board (CPARB) Minutes

Tuesday, April 20, 2021 Via Microsoft Teams

1. Call to Order and Roll Call

Meeting was called to order by Chair Annabelle Nuñez at 5:34 p.m. Those present and absent were:

Members Present: Representing:

Jaime Tadeo *Vice Chairperson* Mayor (departed at 5:57 p.m.)

Shaliqua McCoy Ward 2
Annabelle Nuñez Chairperson Ward 3
Kate Calhoun Ward 4
Traci Hockett Ward 5
Martha Lemen Ward 6

Others Present:

Assistant Chief Kevin Hall Chief of Police

Cpt. Joe Puglia Tucson Police Department Lt. Mark Jimenez Tucson Police Department Lt. Mickey Peterson Tucson Police Department Lt. Stacie Schaner Tucson Police Department Sgt. Mikael Allen Tucson Police Department Sgt. Mark Ewings Tucson Police Department Sgt. Michael Gannon **Tucson Police Department** Sgt. Scott Sullivan Tucson Police Department Offc. Henry Gamez Tucson Police Department Mitch Kagen **Independent Police Auditor** Roi Lusk City Attorney's Office

Stephen Moore Constituent

Mari-Carmen Grimm, Administrative Assistant

City Clerk's Office

Andrea Ochoa, Administrative Assistant

City Clerk's Office

2. Approval of Legal Action Report and Summary Minutes.

It was moved by Traci Hockett, duly seconded, and passed by a roll call vote of 6 to 0, to approve the Legal Action Report and Summary Minutes from March 16, 2021.

3. Report from Chairperson (Information Only)

Report was given by Chairperson Annabelle Nuñez. She welcomed the new Ward Four appointee to CPARB, Kate Calhoun.

4. Call to the Audience:

Chair Nuñez read aloud the guidelines for Call to the Audience for virtual meetings.

"Members of the public may address CPARB during this item via teleconference. To be placed on the meeting comment list, you may email the City Clerk's Office at boardsandcommissions@tucsonaz.gov. Please ensure your email contains your name and phone number. Once your request to speak has been received, you will be provided instructions on how to connect to the meeting. Speakers will be called on by name to provide comment and will be allowed to speak for a maximum of three (3) minutes."

The following individual spoke:

- Stephen Moore

5. Review of TPD Investigations:

1. Case # 20-0604

It was moved by Jaime Tadeo, duly seconded, and passed by a roll call vote of 6 to 0 to find Case #20-0604, to have been a fair and thorough investigation.

2. *Case # 21-0013*

It was moved by Traci Hockett, duly seconded, and passed by a roll call vote of 5 to 0 (Jaime Tadeo absent) to find Case #21-0013, to have been a fair and thorough investigation.

3. *Case # 21-0025*

It was moved by Annabelle Nuñez, duly seconded, and passed by a roll call vote of 5 to 0 (Jaime Tadeo absent) to find Case #21-0025, to have been a fair and thorough investigation.

NOTE: Member Jaime Tadeo departed at 5:57 p.m.

6. Presentation: Tucson Police Officer's Association – Officer Henry Gamez, TPD

- A. Presentation
- B. Discussion and Possible Action
 - Presentation was given by Officer Henry Gamez of the Tucson Police Department. Discussion held, no action taken.

7. Office of Independent Police Auditor

Report given by Mitch Kagen, Independent Police Auditor. Discussion held, no action taken.

8. Tucson Police Department:

- A. TPD Updates regarding events or developments relating to TPD during the prior month.
 - Report was given by Assistant Chief Kevin Hall, Tucson Police Department.
- B. Office of Professional Standards (OPS) updates regarding events or development relating to the OPS during the prior month.
 - Report was given by Captain Joe Puglia, Tucson Police Department.

9. Election of Officers – Chairperson and Vice Chairperson

Chair Annabelle Nuñez opened the floor to nominations for Vice Chairperson. She motioned to nominate Jaime Tadeo to continue the role of Vice Chairperson. Jaime Tadeo was absent but had agreed to accept nomination prior to the meeting. The nomination was duly seconded and carried by a voice vote of 5 to 0 (Jaime Tadeo absent), to re-elect Jaime Tadeo as Vice Chairperson for the Community Police Advisory Board (CPARB), effective immediately.

Chair Nuñez opened the floor to nominations for Chairperson. She motioned to nominate herself to continue the role of Chairperson. The nomination was duly seconded and carried by a voice vote of 5 to 0 (Jaime Tadeo absent), to re-elect Annabelle Nuñez as Chairperson for the Community Police Advisory Board (CPARB), effective immediately.

10. Future Agenda Items:

A future presentation was requested on the Arizona House Bill number 2567.

11. Adjournment: 7:12 p.m.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Community Police Advisory Review Board (CPARB) is on Tuesday, May 18, 2021 at 5:30 p.m.